School Committee - Springfield, MA

School Committee Statement of Purpose:

As instruments of the Massachusetts Legislature, local School Committees function primarily as a legislative body to formulate and adopt policy, by selecting an executive officer to implement policy, and by evaluating the results. They must carry out their functions openly, while seeking comments of the public, students and staff in its decision-making processes.

The Springfield School Committee consists of the Mayor, who is chairman; two members who are elected at-large; and four members who are elected by ward representation. The School Committee operates in accordance with the MGL Ch. 71 and 41, which delegate its authority.

Springfield School Committee Members:

Denise Hurst
Denise Hurst
Vice Chair 

Executive Assistants to the School Committee:
Patricia McCarthy
Patricia J. Walsh
SPS School Committee
1550 Main St.
Springfield, MA 01103

Springfield School Committee Subcommittees: School Committee Subcommittees (PDF)

School Committee Meetings:

School Committee meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Local Government Access Channel 17. Reruns are aired the following day at 8 a.m. 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

To View PDF Files
Click Here to Download Adobe Acrobat Reader

- Back to Top -